Pride Month Berlin

In 2022, Berlin celebrates “Pride Month” for the first time.

From 28.06.22 (Tuesday) – the Stonewall Day – for four weeks, until Sunday, 24.07.22.

Pride Month was created by the CSD Association to give Berliners and Berlin visitors more space for LGBTQIA issues and opportunity for encounters with Berlin’s queer communities. The Pride Demonstration and subsequent final rally continue to be the highlight and big finale of Pride Month. However, they will be complemented by various opportunities that promote exchange, education and encounters in and with the queer community. The depth of discussions will be unprecedented. Both IRL and virtual opportunities will be used to create places for encounters and make access possibilities as broad as possible.

And Berlin’s communities are invited to join in. We want to make room, not just for ours, but for as many queer ideas as possible. We are not interested in fancy straw fires, but in setting long-term impulses in Pride Month, which initiate topics, without over-debating, enable a change of perspective and contribute to real development.

Our wish and aspiration for Pride Month

The Berlin CSD e.V. association aims to make all facets of the LGBTQIA community visible and strengthen them. Furthermore, it is important to us to support existing Safer Spaces in Berlin and to create more during Pride Month. We invite activists from all districts of Berlin to help shape Pride Month – whether they are old friends or newcomers. We want to give space to personal stories and destinies. We want to create places where people from our community can listen to each other and engage in conversation. The focus should be on compassion, understanding, change of perspective and highlighting the strength that many members of the LGBTQIA community bring to their “normal” life. German and multilingual events are designed to appeal to and engage as many people as possible. Sign language is naturally included as a possible language option.

Pride Month 2022 has four focus topics

For 2022, we are defining four focus topics that will shape the Pride Month program. All focus areas will be consistently present in all weeks. Especially the field “Mental Health & accessibility” will be treated and presented across all topics.

House of Pride

In the last week of Pride Month we unite all four focus topics in the “House of Pride”. Under this umbrella we will discuss the various aspects of the demonstration taking place on 23.07.2022 and mobilize visitors. At the demonstration itself, all main topics will be presented as trucks.

Our claim for the execution in this first year of Pride Month is “quality before quantity”. We are creating a stable foundation for the coming years and setting a sign for the Berlin communities.

Structure and execution

Each week, equal emphasis is placed on the respective focus topics. The last week of Pride Month will bring together all key messages.

Specifically, what does Pride Month look like? Here are some of our ideas and suggestions. A detailed program design is planned for spring 2022, incorporating the ideas and concepts of the Berlin communities.

Religion + spirituality

Religious practice and belief are great sources of strength for people – even in the queer community, though there are some particular challenges here. How do members of the community find their way around religion? What offerings are there beyond the major faith communities? CSD e.V. association wants to take on a bridging and mediating role here, enabling inter-religious, intercultural and intersectional exchange on the topic. There will be discussions with queer believers, nuns, pastors and imams as well as with Sanga leaders, atheists and church critics.

The presentation of all our topics is always to be understood as multimedia: Live events at topic-specific locations – for example in churches, mosques or temples – are supplemented by film screenings in cinemas, podcasts, exhibitions, readings, discussions and, of course, parties. Different worldviews will have the chance to introduce themselves and invite people to get to know each other. An interfaith service will be part of the program. In addition, an “open day” in various houses of prayer is imaginable.

For the thematic film series a cooperation with arte tv, the rbb and cinemas in Berlin is possible and planned.

Possible formats:

– Panel discussions / podcasts

– Movie screenings

– Religious services, masses, meditations, open houses etc.

FLINTA + lesbian visibility

Women, lesbians, intersexual persons, trans people and asexuals – these are the main actors of the next focus of Pride Month 2022. Here, too, CSD e. V. association will provide room for already existing and new formats. Visibility of lesbians and intersexual persons, an exchange within the Berlin community, change of perspective and new encounters are the focus to strengthen the scene and young members of the scene. A lesbian / intersexual / trans film series in cooperation with a queer film festival and Berlin cinemas would be imaginable. Readings in queer bookstores, a discussion about the sense or nonsense of men-only or women-only events.

Organizations present their vision of queer aging. Family centers for rainbow families present their vision of queer families. Other Berlin actors will have their say in panel discussions and / or podcasts. Organizers of FLINTA parties and evenings are invited to join and enrich the Pride Month program. A pop-up bar for women and lesbians will be launched for a time period during Pride Month. There will be room for physical meetings and networking. Existing institutions and bars will be incorporated where possible.

Possible formats:

– Integration of events like Queer Garden, Girls Town, Butch Bar Flys, Dienstags in der Möbel Olfe, Oya am Heinrichplatz, CSD auf der Spree, and many more

– Pop-up-Bar for FLINTA-audience

– Panel discussions / podcasts

– Films / queer porn movies

– Readings

Trans + POC / People of Color 

Perspectives, fates, personalities: Who are the trans people and PoCs in Berlin’s communities? What challenges do they have to deal with? We will discuss who causes which problems and who helps to solve them. We will introduce personalities that shape these communities. We want to make their voices heard, give them the opportunity to network even better and support existing projects, ideas and events. Room will be given to stories of various trans-personalities. Recording those conversations in the form of existing podcast formats is imaginable. Whether Latin, Asian, Turkish, Arab, or BPoC – with whom, where, and how do people in these LGBTQIA communities celebrate? We will address how much they shape the Berlin scenes. We will support productions like Kiki Balls (Vogueing) and the Ballroom Community and give space for creation and visibility. An open stage for PoC and trans-musicians? We’re in!

In this focus topic, it is important for all formats to be as multilingual as possible. If only to reflect which languages LGBTQIA speak in Berlin. You want to learn the most necessary vocabulary and terms in English, French, Russian, Turkish, Spanish, Portuguese, Cantonese or Vietnamese? You want to see queer movies in five different languages? You want to finally meet more people who look like you? We got you, beau.

Possible formats:

Financially support existing formats and increase their visibility / give space for new ideas

– Screenings

– Podcasts (live) / panel discussions

– Cooperation with the Gorki theater

– Readings

– Partys

House of Pride / Finale 

In the final week we are on the close to reaching our finishing line: the demonstration. Here we set events that have a direct reference to the demonstration and span across different scenes. The direct political demands of the CSD 2022 get more space. International political topics such as the support of Eastern European Prides and their situation are on the agenda.

Planned highlights: an alcohol and drug free party for dry and clean members of the community. A dance tea for older gays and lesbians. A political talk with guests from Eastern Europe. A guide to happy dating over 50. Discussions with queer caregivers in Corona times. A roundtable discussion on Toxic Masculinity. Cross-scene events and cutting-edge issues on Mental Health will find a place here and mobilize for the demonstration and the subsequent rally.

Schwerpunkte pride month

Pride Month Berlin

2022 findet in Berlin zum ersten Mal der „Pride Month“ statt.

Vom 28.06.22 (Dienstag) – dem Stonewall Tag – vier Wochen lang, bis Sonntag, den 24.07.22.

Der Pride Month wird vom CSD Verein ins Leben gerufen, um Berliner*innen und Berlin Besucher*innen mehr Raum für LGBTQIA-Themen und Begegnungen in und mit den queeren Communities Berlins zu geben. Die Pride Demonstration und anschließende Abschlusskundgebung sind weiterhin Höhepunkt und Abschluss des Pride Months. Sie werden jedoch um vielfältige Möglichkeiten ergänzt um Austausch, Aufklärung und Begegnungen in und mit der queeren Community in bislang nicht möglicher inhaltlicher Tiefe zu haben. Dabei werden sowohl IRL wie virtuelle Möglichkeiten genutzt werden, um Orte für Begegnungen zu schaffen und Zugangsmöglichkeiten möglichst breit zu gestalten.

Und Berlins Communities sind eingeladen, mitzutun. Wir wollen Platz machen, nicht nur für unsere, sondern für so viele queere Ideen, wie möglich. Wir sind nicht interessiert an schicken Strohfeuern, sondern im Pride Month langfristige Impulse setzen, die Themen anstoßen, aber nicht ausdiskutieren, Perspektivwechsel ermöglichen und zu echter Weiterentwicklung beitragen.

Unser Wunsch und Anspruch an den Pride Month

 

Der Berliner CSD e. V. hat den Anspruch, alle Facetten der LGBTQIA-Community sichtbar zu machen und diese zu stärken. Weiter ist uns ein wichtiges Anliegen, bestehende Safer Spaces in Berlin zu unterstützen und ggf. weitere während des Pride Months zu kreieren. Wir laden Aktivist*innen aus allen Berliner Bezirken ein, den Pride Month mitzugestalten – ob altbekannt oder neu dabei. Wir möchten persönlichen Geschichten und Schicksalen Raum geben. Wir möchten Orte schaffen, an denen sich Menschen unserer Community zuhören und ins Gespräch kommen können. Mitgefühl, Verständnis, Perspektivenwechsel und Hervorhebung der Kraft, die viele Mitglieder der LGBTQIA-Community für ihr „normales“ Leben aufbringen, stehen im Fokus. Deutsche und multilinguale Programmpunkte sollen möglichst viele Menschen ansprechen und einbeziehen. Dabei ist Gebärdensprache als eine mögliche Sprache selbstverständlich mitgedacht.

Der Pride Month 2022 setzt vier Schwerpunkte

Für 2022 definieren wir vier Themenfelder, die das Programm des Pride Months prägen. Alle Schwerpunkte werden durchgängig in allen Wochen präsent sein. Besonders das Feld „Mentale Gesundheit & barrierearm“ wird themenübergreifend behandelt und dargestellt.

House of Pride

In der letzten Woche des Pride Months vereinen wir alle Schwerpunkte im „House of Pride“. Unter diesem Dachbegriff thematisieren wir die verschiedenen Aspekte der am 23.07.2022 stattfindenden Demonstration und mobilisieren Besucher*innen. Auf der Demonstration selbst werden alle Themenschwerpunkte als Trucks präsentiert.

Unser Anspruch an die Umsetzung in diesem ersten Jahr des Pride Months ist „Qualität vor Quantität“. Wir schaffen ein erstes, stabiles Fundament für die kommenden Jahre und setzen ein Zeichen für die Berliner Communitys.

Struktur und Umsetzung

Wöchentlich werden mit gleichem Gewicht Akzente zu den jeweiligen Fokusthemen gesetzt. Die letzte Woche des Pride Months vereint alle Kernaussagen.

Wie der Pride Month konkret aussieht? Hier einige unserer Ideen und Vorschläge. Eine genaue Programmgestaltung ist im Frühling 2022 unter Einbindung der Ideen und Konzepte der Berliner Communitys geplant.

Religion + Spiritualität

Religiöse Praxis und Glauben sind große Kraftquellen für Menschen – auch in der queeren Community, auch wenn es hier einige besondere Herausforderungen gibt. Wie finden Mitglieder der Community sich in der Religion zurecht? Welche Angebote abseits der großen Glaubensgemeinschaften gibt es? Der CSD e.V. will hier eine Brücken- und Vermittlerfunktion einnehmen, interreligiöser, interkulturelle und intersektionalen Austausch zum Thema möglich machen. Dabei wird es Gespräche mit queeren Gläubigen, Nonnen, Pastoren und Imamen genauso geben, wie mit Sanga-Leiter_innen, Atheist_innen und Kirchenkritiker_innen.

Die Darstellung aller unserer Themen ist immer multimedial zu verstehen: Live Veranstaltungen an themenspezifischen Orten – zum Beispiel in Kirchen, Moscheen oder Tempeln – werden durch Filmvorführungen in Kinos, Podcasts, Ausstellungen, Lesungen, Diskussionen und natürlich Partys ergänzt. Verschiedene Weltanschauungen stellen sich vor und laden zum Kennenlernen ein. Ein religionsübergreifender Gottesdienst soll Teil des Programms sein. Außerdem ist ein „Tag der offenen Tür“ in verschiedenen Gebetshäusern denkbar.

Bei den thematischen Filmreihen sind eine Kooperation mit arte tv, dem rbb und Berliner Kinos möglich und geplant.

Mögliche Formate:

– Panel-Diskussion / Podcasts

– Film-Screenings

– Gottesdienste, Messen, Meditationen u. ä., „Open Houses“

FLINTA + Lesbische Sichtbarkeit

Frauen, Lesben, intersexuelle Personen, Transpersonen und asexuelle Personen – das sind die Akteuer*innen des nächsten Schwerpunkts des Pride Months 2022. Auch hier sieht der CSD e. V. sich als Raumgeber für bereits bestehende und neue Formate. Sichtbarkeit von Lesben und intersexuellen Personen, ein Austausch innerhalb der Berliner Community, Perspektivwechsel und neue Begegnungen stehen im Mittelpunkt, um die Szene und junge Mitglieder der Szene zu stärken. Denkbar wäre eine lesbische / intersexuelle / trans Filmreihe in Kooperation mit einem queeren Film Festival und Berliner Kinos. Lesungen in queeren Buchläden, eine Diskussion über den Sinn- oder Unsinn reiner Männer*- oder Frauen*-Veranstaltungen.

Organisationen präsentieren ihre Vision vom queeren Altern. Familienzentren für Regenbogenfamilien ihre von queeren Familien. Andere Berliner Akteur*innen kommen in Talkrunden und / oder Podcasts zu Wort. Veranstalter*innen von FLINTA-Partys und Abenden werden eingeladen, sich anzuschließen und das Programm des Pride Months zu bereichern. Eine Pop-up-Bar für Frauen und Lesben soll für einen Zeitraum während des Pride Month ins Leben gerufen werden. Es gibt Raum für physische Begegnungen und Networking. Bestehende Institutionen und Bars werden nach Möglichkeit eingebunden.

Mögliche Formate:

– Einbindung von Veranstaltungen wie z. B. Queer Garden, Girls Town, Butch Bar Flys, Dienstags in der Möbel Olfe, Oya am Heinrichplatz, CSD auf der Spree, u.a.

– Pop-up-Bar für FLINTA-Publikum

– Talkrunden / Podcasts

– Filme / queere Pornofilme

– Lesungen

Trans + POC / People of Color 

Perspektiven, Schicksale, Persönlichkeiten: Wer sind eigentlich die Trans-Personen und PoCs in den Berliner Communitys? Mit welchen Herausforderungen müssen sie sich auseinandersetzen? Wir diskutieren, wer welche Probleme verursacht und wer hilft sie zu lösen. Wir stellen die Persönlichkeiten vor, die diese Communitys prägen. Wir wollen ihren Stimmen Gehör verschaffen, ihnen die Möglichkeit geben, sich noch besser zu vernetzen und bestehende Projekte, Ideen und Veranstaltungen unterstützen. Die Geschichten verschiedener Trans-Persönlichkeiten sollen Raum bekommen, um sich abzubilden und darzustellen. Eine Aufzeichnung der Gespräche in Form von vorhandenen Podcast-Formaten ist denkbar. Ob Latin, asiatisch, türkisch, arabisch oder BPoC – mit wem, wo und wie feiern die Menschen in diesen LGBTQIACommunitys? Hier thematisieren wir, wie sehr sie die Berliner Szenen prägen und unterstützen Produktionen wie Kiki Balls (Vogueing) und die Ballroom Community und geben Raum für Kreation und Sichtbarkeit. Eine Open Stage für PoC- und Trans-Musiker*innen? Gern!

In diesem Themenfeld ist es bei allen Formaten wichtig, sie so multilingual wie möglich zu gestalten. Schon um abzubilden, welche Sprachen LGBTQIA in Berlin sprechen. Du möchtest die notwendigsten Vokabeln und Begriffe auf Englisch, Französisch, Russisch, Türkisch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch, Kantonesisch oder Vietnamesisch lernen? Du möchtest queere Filme in fünf verschiedenen Sprachen sehen? Du willst endlich mal mehr Leute treffen, die aussehen wie du? We got you, beau.

Mögliche Formate:

bestehende Formen finanziell unterstützen und in die breite tragen / neuen Ideen Raum geben

– Screenings

– Podcasts (live) / Talkrunden

– Kooperation mit dem Gorki-Theater

– Lesungen

– Partys

House of Pride / Finale 

In der finalen Woche befinden wir uns auf der Zielgeraden zur Demonstration. Hier setzen wir Programmpunkte, die einen direkten Bezug zur Demonstration haben und szenenübergreifend sind. Die direkten politischen Forderungen des CSD 2022 bekommen mehr Raum. Internationale politische Themen wie die Unterstützung der osteuropäischen Prides und deren Situation stehen auf der Agenda.

Geplante Highlights: eine alkohol- und drogenfreie Party für trockene und cleane Mitglieder der Community. Ein Tanztee für ältere Schwule und Lesben. Ein politischer Talk mit Gäst*innen aus Osteuropa. Eine Anleitung für glückliches Daten über 50. Diskussionen mit queerem Pflegepersonal in Coronazeiten. Eine Talkrunde zu Toxic Masculinity. Szenenübergreifende Veranstaltungen und brandaktuelle Fragen zu Mental Health finden hier Platz und mobilisieren für die Demonstration und die anschließende Kundgebung.

Schwerpunkte pride month